Wormwood Gate

Purchase online

2.99

1.49

Wormwood Gate
About this item
Category: Latvian Literature
Author Farmar K.
Publisher Little Island Press
Publication date 2013
ISBN 9781908195241

For fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Neil Gaiman, a brilliant fantasy debut for young adults, sparkling with all the wonderful strangeness of Alice in Wonderland, but in a world all its own

Aisling and Julie are bickering on a night out, when they are almost run over by a white horse with a red mane. Something strange is going on. The city of Dublin looks changed. Bits of it are familiar, but three castles blaze on the horizon, the pigeons and seagulls are at war with one another, and a talking door-knocker leads them to a floating head—they’re definitely a long way from home. When they discover that the city has three queens, all fighting for power, and that strict rules have been imposed on its residents, they decide it’s time to get out of there, and fast. Can the girls find the Wormwood Gate and get back to Mortal Realms? And, despite their differences, could it be possible that they like each other more than they first thought? This urban fantasy debut with a shining sense of humor and a subtle love story sparkles with beauty and strangeness.

Related items